Pichler-Krutzler ‘Frauengärten’ Grüner Veltliner 2010

 

25607_hr

Cloudy whites are apparently the theme for tonight. Although, I wasn’t so much expecting this one to be. I do like the looming bottle image, so I made it extra-large.

Unexpectedly cloudy and milky like a cataract. Like a Sauvignon Blanc, it’s grassy and shows an edge of pawpaw. A crunch of green apple helps bring it back to GV territory, though it doesn’t show a lot of spice. Perhaps the slightest hint of pepper and celery, but you wouldn’t see it unless you knew the variety. I do like the cidery finish.

Although it’s a pure and clean wine, it lacks the texture and varietal nature that I love about this grape. There are better GVs for the price. Grüner for the Sauv Blanc drinker.

Average – Good.

Closure: Screwcap

Source: Retail

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment